The importance of charm

On my way to the train station last Saturday, I stumbled across a house that was open for inspection. I checked the time and decided that I would be able to squeeze in a quick look before my train arrived. A sudden feeling of excitement swept over me; this random encounter was fun and spontaneous, exactly as I liked to think I may come across openings any day of the week.

I gave the agent my details and told him that I was having a quick look. As I stepped away, the first thing I noticed was the smell. The house smelled old; not old in a nice way, old in an unkempt, musty way.

In spite of the smell, the house was not a physically dirty home and as I walked through the bare rooms I noticed a few oddities. The kitchen sink, cabinets and cupboards were concealed behind a sliding door that opened directly over the carpeted living area. I thought this was a bit impromptu and as I looked around the room, I noticed some other design flaws. The main bathroom was behind a door that opened into the lounge area. This can work, such as in instances when the same floor coverings are used in both rooms but in this house, with the old tiles and the lush carpet, it seemed a bit careless.

There were two bedrooms at the front of the house which were difficult to recognise as they weren’t dressed. The mind is a wondrous thing but when a house has so little to offer, furniture wouldn’t help even the wildest of imaginations to picture a family living here.

Thinking back to the house I viewed two months ago, and looking at what stood in front of me, I could see that the main thing this property lacked was charm (and maybe a bit of tact). But watching and listening to others who came to inspect, I could see that one family would be able to visualise it exactly as they wanted and eventually be able to call it home.

About gertiebeth11

I like to read, write and drink coffee.
This entry was posted in Houses, Insights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment